Display

After much searching for a decent high resolution screen, I think I’ve finally found a good candidate at a reasonably price.

The Chalk Elec IPS displays. They do a 10″ and 7″ variant, for $134.99 and $124.99 respectively. Unfortunately they have some problems with their 7″ one causing it to be out of stock:

“We assembled first batch of 12 displays and found that almost all of them have serious problem with video synchronization.”

Luckily, they are working on a fix and should have a new batch ready. As I’m in the EU, there’s a German distributor, which would mean I wouldn’t have to pay the VAT and import duty on top of the price but I wonder what their lead time on it would be once they Chalk have fixed the problem and new batches available.

The screens both have IPS and the 7″ is 1024×600 with the 10″ being 1280×800. Both much better resolutions than the scummy ones I found that are 800×400! I have sent them an email inquiring them about the physical dimensions as they don’t seem to be listed on their website.

Now I need to find out which version will fit best into the existing hole. I’ve ordered an extra instrument cluster that I can play with and modify to hold the screen and measure what dimensions I need.
If it turns out that I need a completely custom holder, that wouldn’t be too much of an issue as I know a guy with a 3D printer.

Time to get this out:

Leave a comment